Thai Yoga Massage

This massage technique comes from Thailand. It is strongly influenced by Yoga through the stretching positions and movements performed during the massage. The terms Thai massage and Thai Yoga massage are hence synonyms. Traditionally, oils are not used and the massage takes place on the ground or on a mat.

Its origins can be traced back to India, like Yoga, and show a deep influence of Buddhism and its philosophy. The roots of this massage, that date back over a thousand years, even reveal the influence of Ayurvedic and Chinese medicines.

Its founder, an Indian medicine man and a contemporary of Buddha, Jivaka Kumar Bhaccha (in Thailand, Dr Shivago Komarpaj) is mentioned in the ancient scriptures (Pali Canon) of Theravada Buddhism.

The Thai Yoga massage is not based on a western anatomy system. It is based on energy (prána) that is the foundation of all far-eastern healing techniques. In the human body, this energy flows through a network of channels or meridian lines (the respective terms are Sen in Thai or Nadi in Sanskrit). Health is the balance and the harmony of these energies. It is a state of vitality, strength and inner peace.

This technique combines massaging along energy lines, stretching, twists and meditation. As in the case with Yoga, Thai medicine recognizes 72,000 energy channels. The most important are Sen Sumana (Suschumna), Sen Ittha (Idá) and Sen Pingkala (Pingala). All the lines are important, but these lines have a more direct effect on our whole energy system and are directly connected to the most important Chakras (centers of energy).

The Thai massage is one of four branches of Thai medicine; the other three are healing with herbal remedies, special diets and spiritual practices along with meditation.

Deeply linked with Buddhism, Thai Yoga massage is a way of cultivating the four divine states of this philosophy: Metta (loving-kindness), Karuna (compassion), Mudita (contagious joy) and Uppekha (equitableness, impartiality, non-aggression). When applying it, we must be in a meditative state, flowing and dancing to our divine rhythm, deepening the connection with our body, mind and spirit.

The effects are the same as those felt in Yoga, with an increase in vital energy, a soothing of tensions, the release of interrupted energy flows, an increase in joint flexibility, muscle stretching, and relaxation. There is a sensation of inner peace and balance.

The Thai Yoga massage is also known as "Lazy Yoga" or passive Yoga because the results are very similar. It's worth a try!

   
Tania Sturzenegger tania4energy@yahoo.com Youtube-Channel Tania Sturzenegger facebook.com/YogaWithTaniaSturzenegger

Thai Yoga Massage

Die Thai Massage stammt aus Thailand. Aufgrund der Techniken, Positionen und Streckbewegungen, die während der Massage ausgeführt werden, ist der starke Einfluss des Yoga unverkennbar. Die Begriffe Thai oder Thai Yoga Massage können deshalb synonym verwendet werden. Traditionell wird kein Öl benutzt und es wird auf dem Boden oder der Strohmatte gearbeitet.

Wie das Yoga hat auch die Thai Massage ihre Ursprünge in Indien und ist geprägt durch den Buddhismus und dessen Philosophie. In den Wurzeln dieser tausendjährigen Massage können wir auch die Einflüsse der Ayurveda- und der chinesischen Medizin entdecken.

Ihr Begründer war ein indischer Mediziner zu Zeiten Buddhas, Jivaka Kumar Bhaccha (in Thailand Dr. Shivago Komarpaj), der in den alten Schriften (Pali Canon) des Theravada-Buddhismus erwähnt wird.

Die Thai Yoga Massage begründet sich nicht auf einem westlichen Anatomiesystem. Sie basiert vielmehr auf Energie (Prána), die das Fundament aller fernöstlichen Heiltechniken ist. Im menschlichen Körper fliesst diese Energie in einem Netz von Kanälen oder Meridianen (Sen in Thai, Nadi in Sanskrit). Die Gesundheit ist das Gleichgewicht und die Harmonie dieser Energien in unserem Körper. Sie ist ein Stadium aus Vitalität, Kraft und inneren Friedens.

Diese Technik verbindet die Massage von Energiepunkten und -linien, Streck- und Drehübungen und Meditation. Wie das Yoga kennt auch die Thai Medizin 72.000 Energiekanäle. Die wichtigsten sind Sen Sumana (Suschumna), Sen Ittha (Idá) und Sen Pingkala (Pingala). Alle Linien sind wichtig, doch diese beeinflussen direkt unser Energiesystem und sind zentral mit den wichtigsten Chakras (Energiezentren) verbunden.

Die Thai Massage ist einer von vier Zweigen der thailändischen Medizin; die anderen drei orientieren sich an der Heilung durch Kräuter, Ernährung und spirituelle Praktiken wie Meditation.

Grundlegend mit dem Buddhismus verbunden ist die Thai Yoga Massage ein Weg, um die vier göttlichen Stadien dieser Philosophie zu pflegen: Metta (liebende Güte), Karuna (Mitgefühl), Mudita (unermessliche Freude) und Uppekha (Gleichmut, Unparteilichkeit, Gewaltlosigkeit). Während der Massage wird ein meditatives Stadium erreicht, fliessend wie ein Tanz mit seinem göttlichen Rhythmus mit dem Ziel die Verbindung zwischen Körper, Geist und Seele zu vertiefen.

Die Wirkungen sind die Gleichen wie beim Yoga: Verstärkung der Lebensenergie, Spannungsabbau, Freigabe der stagnierten Energie, Erhöhung der Gelenkflexibilität, Muskelstreckung, Entspannung. Das Gefühl von Frieden und Ausgewogenheit.

Die Thai Yoga Massage ist auch bekannt als das "Yoga für Faule" oder als passives Yoga, denn die Ergebnisse sind sehr ähnlich. Probier es aus! Es lohnt sich!

   
Tania Sturzenegger tania4energy@yahoo.com Youtube-Channel Tania Sturzenegger facebook.com/YogaWithTaniaSturzenegger